Cross Party Group Annual Report 8th November 2023

Cross Party Group on Industrial Communities

1. Group Membership (during the year)

Chair: Vikki Howells MS (Chair)

Luke Fletcher MS
Huw Irranca-Davies MS
Joel James MS
Delyth Jewell MS
Sarah Murphy MS
Peredur Owen Griffiths MS
Sam Rowlands MS

Secretary:

Peter Slater (retired 7th February 2023) Meirion Thomas (appointed 7th February 2023)

2. Previous Group Meetings (since 6th July 2022 AGM)

Meeting 1

Meeting Date: 19th October 2022

Attendees: Vikki Howells MS (Chair); Vaughan Gething MS, Minister for the Economy, Welsh Government; Stephen Kinnock MP, Chair, UKSPF APPG; David Rees MS; Huw Irranca-Davies MS; Professor Steve Fothergill, ICA National Secretariat; Peter Slater. ICA Wales; Chris Whitwood, ICA Secretariat; Phil O'Mara; ICA Secretariat; Cllr Gareth Jones, Rhondda Cynon Taff CBC; Cllr Andrew Dacey, Neath Port Talbot CBC; Cllr Andrew Barry, Merthyr Tydfil CBC; Cllr Anthony Hunt, Torfaen CBC; Cllr Neelo Farr, Bridgend CBC; Cllr Helen Cunningham, Blaenau Gwent CBC; Cllr Steve Powderhill, Rhondda Cynon Taff CBC; Cllr Tyssul Evans, Carmarthenshire CC; Ieuan Sherwood, Bridgend CBC; Paul Hudson, Caerphilly CBC; Professor Kevin Morgan, Cardiff University; Alison Sandford, Welsh Government; Michelle Rowson Woods, CRT; Robin Lewis, Office of Vikki Howells MS; Lee Parsons, Office of Peredur Owen Griffiths MS; Alexander Still, Office of Hefin David MS; Tomos Llewelyn, Welsh Conservative Senedd Group Office; Billy Jones Office of Luke Fletcher MS; Eleri Griffiths Office of Heledd Fychan MS; Ioan Bellin, Office of Rhys Ab Owen MS.

Summary of Issues Discussed: UK Shared Prosperity Fund and the perspective for Wales.

Meeting 2

Meeting Date: 7th February 2023

Attendees: Vikki Howells MS (Chair); Lisa Nandy MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Levelling Up and Communities; David Rees MS; Luke Fletcher MS; Jenny Rathbone MS; Colin Beattie MSP (Convener, Scottish Parliament CPG); Richard Leonard MSP; Ian McCrory, Fife Council; Professor Steve Fothergill, ICA National Secretariat; Chris Whitwood, ICA Secretariat; Paul Beel, ICA Secretariat; Peter Slater, ICA Wales; Meirion Thomas, ICA Wales; Roddy MacDonald ICA Scotland; Cllr Gareth Jones, Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC; Cllr Anthony Hunt, Torfaen CBC; Cllr Tyssul Evans, Carmarthenshire CC; Cllr Neelo Farr, Bridgend CBC; Cllr Tim Bowen, Neath Port Talbot CBC; Cllr Michelle Symonds, Merthyr Tydfil CBC; Cllr Danny Grehan, Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC; Cllr Ryland Doyle, Swansea City Council; Nicola Pearce, Neath Port Talbot CBC; Paul Hudson, Caerphilly CBC; Rob Wellington, Torfaen CBC; Robin Lewis, Office of Vikki Howells MS; Alexander Still, Office of Hefin David MS; Ioan Bellin, Office of Rhys Ap Owen MS; Professor Kevin Morgan, Cardiff University; Gwion Rhisiart, Plaid Ifanc; Elena Haf, Guest; Dr Elizabeth Haywood, Guest; Thomas Owen; Claire Williams

Summary of Issues Discussed: Streamlining the Levelling Up Fund and the Labour Party's Perspective on Levelling Up

Meeting 3

Meeting Date: 28th June 2023

Attendees: Vikki Howells MS, CPG Chair; Roger Maggs (Speaker), Interim Chair, Celtic Freeport; David Gwynne (Speaker), Interim CEO, Celtic Freeport Alice Jones, Associated British Ports; Prof. Peter Tyler (Speaker), Cambridge University; David Rees MS; Cllr. Steve Hunt, Leader, Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council; Cllr Anthony Hunt, Leader, Torfaen County Borough Council; Cllr Huw David, Leader, Bridgend County Borough Council; Cllr Gareth Jones, Chair Alliance Wales, and Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC; Cllr. Jeremy J. Hurley, Cabinet Member, Neath Port Talbot CBC; Cllr. Andrew Dacey, Neath Port Talbot CBC; Julia Silezin, Office of Beth Winter MP; Suela Martini, Office of Stephen Kinnock MP; Robin Lewis, Office of Vikki Howells MS; Owen Thomas, Office of John Griffiths MS; Emily Hearne, Office of David Rees MS; Henry Davies, Office of Huw Irranca-Davies MS; Adil Pirmohamed, Senior Economic Development Officer, Neath Port Talbot CBC; Julie Davies, Economic Development Officer, Neath Port Talbot CBC; Sarah Gaze, International Trade Support Officer, Caerphilly CBC; Prof Steve Fothergill, National Director, Industrial Communities Alliance; Prof Calvin Jones, Cardiff University; Dylan Henderson, Cardiff University; Phillip Omara, National Secretariat Industrial Communities Alliance; Meirion Thomas, (CPG Secretary) Director Wales Alliance

Summary of Issues Discussed: Celtic Freeport proposal and Investment Zones

ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENT

8th November 2023 Cross Party Group on Industrial Communities

Chair: Vikki Howells MS

Secretary: Peter Slater, Director, Industrial Communities Alliance Wales

Group Expenses	None	0.0
Cost of all goods	No goods purchased	0.0
Benefits received by the group or individual Members from outside bodies	No benefits received	0.0
Any secretariat or other support	No financial Support received	0.0
Services provided to the group such as hospitality	None	0.0
Total Cost		0.0